Nick Cave

Nick Cave (22 de septiembre de 1957, Warracknabeal, Australia).

Más conocido por su banda Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, gran músico y letrista, además de escritor, que no ha dudado en tocar el mundo del cine como actor y guionista.

Nick Cave en el mundo musical:

Su primera banda, The Boys Next Door, creada en la universidad, a partir de 1977 comenzó a adquirir fama en Australia. Hasta entonces reinterpretaban canciones de artistas como David Bowie, Alice Cooper, Lou Reed, pero entonces la banda comenzó a interpretar su propia música.

The Birthday Party, éste fue el nombre de la banda a partir de 1980, cuando deciden mudarse a Londres primero, y a la Alemania Federal después. No le costó nada más que su propio talento ganarse la fama allí. Letras rompedoras y provocativas que captaron la atención de la juventud. Las actuaciones de Cave en vivo y en directo durante los conciertos de la banda también incitaban al escándalo. La banda se desarticula en 1984.

Whooah bite! whooah bite! | Release the bats. release the bats

Don’t tell me that it doesn’t hurt. | A hundred fluttering in your skirt

(don’t tell me that it doesn’t hurt)

My baby is alright | She doesn’t mind a bit of dirt

She says ‘horror vampire bat bite’ | She says ‘horror vampire

How I wish those bats would bite’ | Whooah bite! bite!

Release the bats! release the bats! | Pump them up and explode the things

Her legs are chafed by sticky wings | (sticky sticky little things).

My baby is a cool machine | She moves to the pulse of her generator

Says damn that sex supreme. | She says damn that horror bat

Sex vampire, cool machine | Release the bats! release the bats!

Release them!

Baby is a cool machine | She moves to the pulse of her generator

Says damn that sex supreme. | She says, she says damn that horror bat

Sex horror sex bat sex sex horror sex vampire | Sex bat horror vampire sex

Cool machine | Horror bat. bite! | Cool machine. bite! | Sex vampire. bite!

Release the bats, The Birthday Party.

(Junkyard, 1982)

The Birthday Party – Release The Bats

A continuación, el artista forma junto con Mick Harvey, el Blixa Bargeld, Barry Adamson y Hugo Race la agrupación Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. Las maravillosas letras que Cave escribe para sus canciones tienen su origen en esta formación musical, sus canciones son ahora más narrativas, líricas y muy profundas.

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds cosecharon grandes éxitos durante muchos años. Aunque se tomaron un descanso, aún en 2008 han lanzado un nuevo disco Dig, Lazarus Dig!!

I don’t believe in an interventionist God | But I know, darling, that you do

But if I did I would kneel down and ask Him | Not to intervene when it came to you

Not to touch a hair on your head | To leave you as you are

And if He felt He had to direct you | Then direct you into my arms

Into my arms, O Lord | Into my arms, O Lord

Into my arms, O Lord | Into my arms

And I don’t believe in the existence of angels | But looking at you I wonder if that’s true

But if I did I would summon them together | And ask them to watch over you

To each burn a candle for you | To make bright and clear your path

And to walk, like Christ, in grace and love | And guide you into my arms

Into my arms, O Lord | Into my arms, O Lord

Into my arms, O Lord | Into my arms

And I believe in Love | And I know that you do too

And I believe in some kind of path | That we can walk down, me and you

So keep your candlew burning | And make her journey bright and pure

That she will keep returning | Always and evermore

Into my arms, O Lord | Into my arms, O Lord

Into my arms, O Lord | Into my arms

Into my arms, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

(The Boatman’s call, 1997).

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Into My Arms

No puedo dejar de mencionar la canción que me hizo querer conocer a este cantante más a fondo. Una canción que me hizo llorar y pensar. Se trata de la canción O’Children, del álbum doble Abattoir Blues/ The Lyre of Orpheus.

Pass me that lovely little gun | My dear, my darting one

The cleaners are coming, one by one | You don’t even want to let them start

They are knocking now upon your door | They measure the room, they know the score

They’re mopping up the butcher’s floor | Of your broken little hearts

O children

Forgive us now for what we’ve done | It started out as a bit of fun

Here, take these before we run away | The keys to the gulag

O children | Lift up your voice, lift up your voice

Children | Rejoice, rejoice

Here comes Frank and poor old Jim | They’re gathering round with all my friends

We’re older now, the light is dim | And you are only just beginning

O children

We have the answer to all your fears | It’s short, it’s simple, it’s crystal dear

It’s round about, it’s somewhere here | Lost amongst our winnings

O children | Lift up your voice, lift up your voice

Children | Rejoice, rejoice

The cleaners have done their job on you | They’re hip to it, man, they’re in the groove

They’ve hosed you down, you’re good as new | They’re lining up to inspect you

O children

Poor old Jim’s white as a ghost | He’s found the answer that was lost

We’re all weeping now, weeping because | There ain’t nothing we can do to protect you

O children | Lift up your voice, lift up your voice

Children | Rejoice, rejoice

Hey little train! We are all jumping on | The train that goes to the Kingdom

We’re happy, Ma, we’re having fun | And the train ain’t even left the station

Hey, little train! Wait for me! I once was blind but now

I see… Have you left a seat for me?Is that such a stretch of the imagination?

Hey little train! Wait for me! I was held in chains but now I’m free

I’m hanging in there, don’t you see… In this process of elimination

Hey little train! We are all jumping on | The train that goes to the Kingdom

We’re happy, Ma, we’re having fun | It’s beyond my wildest expectation

Hey little train! We are all jumping on | The train that goes to the Kingdom

We’re happy, Ma, we’re having fun | And the train ain’t even left the station

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – O Children

Enlaces:

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds en Spotify: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

http://www.nickcaveandthebadseeds.com/home

http://www.nick-cave.com/

~ por inmagdiaz en 12 de enero de 2012.

Una respuesta to “Nick Cave”

  1. I’m still learning from you, while I’m improving myself. I definitely love reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the information coming. I loved it!

Responder

 
